If you select the “Workforce tracking” flavor at registration, Situm will allow you to manage your users. This is useful if, for instance, you want to create one user per each staff member, assigning them roles, groups and permissions.
You may access the user management panel through the “Users” icon in the left bar.
User management #
Creating a new user #
In order to create a new user, it is necessary to click the button on the upper right corner of the Users Panel.
Once pressed, user is redirected to a creation form, where you will need to fill every box marked with an asterisk (*), these are email, password and assigned buildings. The user will only have permissions over the buildings assigned to him/her.
To go back to user list just click on Users breadcrumb.
A word on roles & permissions #
Situm Dashboard provides 4 different permissions by default for each user. You may find a detailed description here.
Even if Situm provides only 4 roles by default, we provide many other granularities upon request, in order to adapt to specific business rules and user cases.
Editing your users #
An user can be edited by clicking on the icon, this will lead you to update form (like the creation one) with the selected user’s data ready to be modified. Once you make your changes, click on the Update button to store them.
Deleting an user #
An user can be deleted by pressing the button. Make sure you really want to do this: user data will no longer be available after you confirm.
Situm allows you to create groups and subgroups, assigning each user to one of them. All this is very useful for a more organized and efficient management of your staff.
Groups will reflect in many aspects of Situm Dashboard, such as in the Real Time panel (allowing you to filter real-time geolocation visualization by groups, visualizing them by colours) or in the Reports (allowing you to generate geoanalytics by groups / subgroups). Groups and subgroups can be assigned different colours for a better visualization in different Situm Dashboard screens.
Device Assignment #
Situm allows you to assign each user to a device by its device id.
Please note that when you login to the Situm Mapping Tool app, a device id is automatically assigned to that user.
Also, please note that if you logout from the same device from one account and login from another, the device id of the first user is automatically unassigned and assigned to the second one.
In the Device Assignment menu, you have three ways to filter data:
- By user’s email (1)
- Selecting a building or searching for all buildings (2)
- Searching for unassigned devices (3)
Editing device assignment #
An user’s device assignment can be edited by clicking on the icon. Once you make your changes, click on the Check button to store them.
Deleting device assignment #
An user’s device assignment can be deleted by clicking on the . In the following image you can see an example of an unassigned device.
Now the user has no assigned device: